Adventures in PR Land

PRSA article – “Tweeting your way to better writing and editing skills

Posted on: April 3, 2009

Hello everybody, today I found an article on PRSA ( Public Relations Society of America) that explains how Twitter can improve writing skills.

As a writing tutor, I always try to find ways to help students practice becoming better writers. My boss would say,” The job of a writing tutor is to put his/herself out of business by helping students become better writers on thier own”. The one thing that attracts me to writing is that there is no one way to do things. Sure there are rules such as grammar and structure, but I could play with the content and express my ideas. However, the flexibility of language makes me more prone to making occasional  mistakes that in hindsight that I question myself about later.

What I am learning in writing for pr is that our writing has to do several things: 1) Be clear and to the point, 2) Make technical or specific information understandable for readers and publics 3) Be grammatically correct and error free

At my job, I am finding myself incorporating pr writing principles to the students, such as eliminating “wordiness”, writing for your audience (which is mainly the teacher), try to explain things clearly and concisely.

When I think about it, not only do these tips count as good pr writing practices but good writing practices as well.

In this PRSA article archive, “Tweeting your way to better editing and writing skills”, it talks about how the 140 character limitation aids people’s writing by forcing people to use active voice and more verbs.

For more information go to:

http://www.prsa.org/supportfiles/news/viewNews.cfm?pNewsID=842347922

That’s all for now, thanks for reading . I’ll get back really soon

Signing out- Sabrina Roberts on the Roberts Report

2 Responses to "PRSA article – “Tweeting your way to better writing and editing skills"

Good info. Did I tell you I left the writing center? Yep, may come back in summer but I added an Ethics class T&Thurs night so I dont have time to do the tutoring this quarter

Aww I’m sorry to hear that you are leaving but I am glad you were able to add your classes. I may be working in the writing center and doing an internship at the same time.
How do you like your classes so far?

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 604 hits

Sabrina Roberts

