Adventures in PR Land

Just a Reminder, There are 8 Questions an Employer Can’t Ask

Posted on: September 9, 2010

Photo from Yingster.net

Morning readers,

It’s 7:30′ ish in California and I just woke up. But, before I head off to work I wanted to leave you a little reminder today.

Yahoo! has an article about the eight questions that you shouldn’t be asked during an interview. We may know some of these rules, or we may not. But it is always good to know what your rights are. A few months ago during and interview the boss asked if I was married. I said no, but in the back of my mind I was thinking, ” I know you can’t legally ask me this.”  However, we need jobs and people get nervous during these interviews.  It is still good to know what employers are not allowed to ask and to prepare accordingly if you are asked these questions.

And the questions are…..

1 ) How old are you?

2 ) Are you married? ( I was asked this one)

3 ) Are you a U.S citizen?

4 ) Do you have a disability ?

5 ) Do you uses drugs, smoke cigarettes, and drink?  ( There are some instances when this is allowed, but the questions have to be asked a certain way)

6 ) What is your religion?

7 ) What is your race?

8 ) Are you pregnant?

If you want to read more about this, here is the link:

http://finance.yahoo.com/career-work/article/110601/8-things-employers-arent-allowed-to-ask-you

OK, readers… I am going to grab a bite to eat and then off to work. As always, thanks for reading and have a great day.

Signing out on…..

The Roberts Report.

Leave a Reply

Follow Me on Twitter

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Blog Stats

  • 604 hits

Sabrina Roberts

