Adventures in PR Land

Would you trade places with a 2009 graduate?

Posted on: March 31, 2009

Hi everyone!

Today I have the day off because of Cesar Chavez day, so I wanted to update my blog and look at more internship opportunities. However, I found this article on the PRSA blog, PR SAY and it talked about the job outlook for 2009 graduates and how the “still employed” can help.

http://prsay.prsa.org/index.php/2009/03/23/would-you-trade-places-with-a-2009-college-graduate/

It is encouraging to see people with experience willing to help students starting out by giving advice and giving tips about how to weather this economic storm. A few weeks ago, I decided to google as many pr firms I could find and ask about any internship opportunities for the summer. Only one person called me back.

We had a long conversation about how to get in pr, what do do, starting a blog and other things. He asked me about who I was and what I am looking for in the industry.  I don’t think that person knows how much it meant that he called me back, internship or no internship.

When I wrote my pr ethics codes for my pr theory class, one of the things I included was a pr practioner’s duty to help underclassmen and entry level employees. While no one is obligated to help anyone eles, it is a good thing to do. I want to have the opportunity to help someone else once I make it.

It is tough out there. I can remember a time that I would walk by my school’s career center center poster board and see it covered with job opportunities. Now its practically bare and not filling up as spring approaches.

I am worried, like many of my peers .  Yet I must tell myself that it is going to be ok and I must do everything in my power to make myself competitive in this ever so tough job market.

Well, thanks for reading my post and I will write soon.

From the Roberts Report , I’m Sabrina Roberts- signing out

1 Response to "Would you trade places with a 2009 graduate?"

Great site this robertsreport.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a comment

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 628 hits

Sabrina Roberts